I resolved last time that I would return to post entries in this blog but I got so busy that I haven’t been updating since December. Because I got tired of my Mom’s whining that she didn’t have money, I resumed finding a job last January 2023. After not hearing any callbacks to some of the applications I sent, I was on the verge of giving up searching for a job that fit my background. In the end, I decided that whatever job will do as long as I can earn money, so I decided to apply to be a call center agent. I talked with a friend and also got referred to a legal secretary job, so I ended up applying for that one too.

Applying for a call center job wasn’t easy. I had to wait for a full day just to finish tests and interviews. In the end, after a strenuous day and a half, I was able to pass. The day after, I had an interview with the legal secretary job. I also got accepted there. I couldn’t believe it at first because it was the first time my job hunting after getting interviewed was good. As I stated in my previous posts in this blog, I was often unlucky. I realized now that when I was interviewed to be a legal staff (not really but your job is to input legal info), my interview was the one who did not want me to pass because she asked me questions that really confused me. Of course because of that, my interview went aweful. However, that was their loss not mine. I was also not able to pass one with a similar job description. Maybe it was because I won’t be able to move easily to Bacolod or maybe it was because I was indecisive whether or not I would take the bar exams that year or now, I don’t really know. At that I was resolved to turn my back on every taking the bar exams again. However, the constant job rejections without even hearing the reason why I was rejected was getting on my nerves. The final nail to the coffin was not able to pass any legal related job even though I am a law graduate. I was really pissed that time. I felt as if my degree was of no use and I was just wasting time because in the end, they don’t look at your background, or the things you can do, they don’t consider you at all if you don’t know anyone there or if you don’t have any strong backing. They also ask you to take this ridiculous test that is maybe impossible to pass. I don’t know anymore. Those applications were my last straw so I end up taking the bar exams again.

After passing both of the jobs I applied for, I was made to choose between them of course. In the end, I went with the legal secretary job because it is close to my background. An interviewer also advised me that it is better for me to choose a job that is related to my background because it would be a waste. Even though the job seems heavy, the pay is more than what I am expected to receive as a call center agent. And it won’t be as exhausting as when working in a call center. To be honest, I really wanted to try working as a call center agent. Maybe if it had been eight years ago or so, it would be okay, but now, what I need is a full time job that is preferably related to my background.

When I started my job as a legal secretary. I was nervous. Having a difficult boss and work environment is fairly common so I wished deep in my heart that my boss and my colleagues will be okay. I’m really thankful that God heard my prayers. I have a lot of bosses. My direct superior is a gen z so she is pretty chill. I appreciate her so much because as long as I do my job, she doesn’t mind me having a day off or me getting under-time, or whatever. This also the same with our boss in our department. For a 70+ year old man he is pretty chill. He is not uptight at all. My other boss, she is our admin head, I think she is a bit stuffy but because she is pretty flexible and really good at communicating with others, you don’t get the vibe that she can be stuffy. She is a marites in the right way ahahha. I like her because she is always full of energy and a ball of sunshine.

My work is okay. It can be busy at times because my bosses own a group of companies, but it is tolerable. The owners are okay, they are not the type to overwork their workers, I guess. There are some employees that need to over time because of the type of their work but other than that they really respect people’s personal time. Maybe it’s a bit different for the admin staff. I’m part of the group chat for this and sometimes they are on call but my bosses don’t overdo it. I guess it’s fine that it’s not frequent.

Overall, I am satisfied with my job now. It’s what I was hoping for: good bosses, passable pay, good environment. I hope this year I can be licensed so I can move on to another step in the ladder of life.

Leave a comment